Posted in Advice

Starting Over

Starting over can be tough, but sometimes it’s the kick in the ass we need. Sometimes we need to start over by going to a new city, meeting new people, and searching for the place that opens its arms to us and welcomes us home.

 

For me personally, Philadelphia has never been home. It, like most of my jobs, has been a stepping stone into the bigger and better things I have planned for my life. I’ve stayed here for far longer than I wanted for the wrong reasons, and I feel now I need to move for all the reasons that held me back for so long!

IMG_1065

 

I’m not scared. I’m not worried. I’m not hesitant. In fact, it’s the first time in a long time I truly feel alive. I feel excited. Exhilarated. Lightweight. And Worry Free! I’m looking into options around other cities of the country. I’m looking into different career paths. And I’m thrilled about it. I’m most excited about Nashville, for some inexplicable reason, I am pulled to Nashville. I feel it in my bones, this is the place where I want to be. I want to live and thrive, and love this city. We’re going to find out if that’s the case soon enough when I go down for 5 days.

 

Sometimes the best way to start over is to take time for yourself and see what makes you tick, with no outside influences or factors or people. You get to tap into what makes you happy and how you want to spend your time. How you spend your day when the day is yours, and how you’ll be a better partner in the future to someone who fits into your life. Sure, starting over is a little scary, and a little worrisome, but it’s the best feeling in the world to know that any and all decisions can be yours and yours alone. If you’re not afraid to spread your wings and move to a whole new place and begin fresh, what’s to stop you?
Nothing. So go be brave and trek a new path.

Leave a Reply

