Posted in Advice

Open Letter to the Women Who Have Inspired Me

I want to thank the powerful, strong, awe-inspiring, beautiful, and inspirational women who surround me. I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for your years of wisdom and guidance to help shape me into the woman who stands before you today. I want to thank each and every one of them because without their experience, advice, and tough lessons, I wouldn’t be standing here. I understand these lessons have come from love and to better me, although at the time I might not have seen how they were trying to guide me. In the following posts, each will be a tribute to a specific woman whose polished away the rough edges and started to help create a diamond.

Life is much too short for fellow women to tear each other down and I’ve been incredibly lucky to have women who have pushed me the be the best version of myself time and time again, never giving me the chance to do less than I’m capable of.

This open letter isn’t just to the women who have touched my life personally, but to all the strong women who work so hard to change our world for the better! I write this not realizing that International Women’s Day has come and gone, but in a reflection to celebrating women each and every day. There’s always going to be a controversial woman figure who’s a celebrity or star who’s going to shake our feminist beliefs, but I think it doesn’t matter what they do because they’re getting attention to us. You’ve got people like Kesha who is fighting a legal battle over someone who sexually assaulted her and can’t get out of her contract with him directly, you’ve got people like Kim Kardashian who is in the media for her outrageous publicity and infamy, but she’s still an icon to our generation of women. That’s not to say I support her or think she’s worth speaking about, but she’s an icon. You’ve got Taylor Swift, who I personally don’t like, but she knows how to sell herself into a “role model” for young women. Then you’ve got Adele, a personal icon and inspiration in my life. She’s the laid-back and drama free kind of woman who speaks from her heart and doesn’t feel like she has to censor herself (too much).

This letter is to every woman who has worked so hard to make sure women are treated equally, Malala Yousafzai, Hillary Clinton, Susan B. Anthony, and the list goes on. We have to stick together.

Leave a Reply

