Posted in Advice

What I Want To Remember

IMG_8927I don’t want to live with any big regrets in my life. That’s not to say, there won’t be missed opportunities or chances not taken, but overall, I want to look back on my life and be proud of all I’ve done, seen, and accomplished. As I get older, I’m realizing there is truly a huge world out there and I plan to try to see it all. If I could impart what I know now on 18 year old me, I’d say there are so many choices in life. You don’t need to follow the cookie cutter choices of your peers. Don’t be afraid to go do something that sets your heart on fire. There is no shame is going your own way. IMG_0709

 

It’s liberating to be whoever you want to be. And as a woman, rock it. There was an amazing poem from a poetry slam where this woman speak to how we (women) need to find our combat boots and own our lives. I wish I had had the knowledge and insight I have now, at 18, but for now all I can say is this for my future children.

 

Before I get too old and forget how the teen years are, I have to confess. I think I’ll forget that at 14, I didn’t want to listen to my mom. I thought I knew it all. I thought she didn’t get what I was going through and in some ways, she probably didn’t, but she also experienced the transition from being a kid to being an adult. Maybe her years were a different kind of stress since my generation was really the kick off point to how technology took over our lives. Online/cyber bullying became a thing; which has in fact, driven kids to suicide. Online dating has exploded, which I was originally against but eventually came to terms with and how I met a great guy. The misguided ways of those who catfished (or were catfished), those who ghosted, how we became a society that could swipe left or right in the most absurd ways. I think growing up now and for future generations will be interesting because who knows how they will react to the excessive over sharing and connectivity of how people are. Kids are growing up too fast and missing out on the wonders of being a kid, and enjoying life at its value. We put too much pressure on kids to know who they want to be or what they want to do, and not enough on just enjoying life each day and learning how to be a good person. Maybe when I’m a parent I remember this insight at 25, but I imagine it won’t be that easy.

This has taken a different turn for the future instead of the past.

Leave a Reply

