Posted in Advice

Apartment Hunting is Kinda Like Dating in the Real Work

Thoughts running through my head;

“What if it doesn’t look as good as it does in the pictures?”

“Is it big enough?”

“Will it make me happy?”

“Is it worth even going to see?”

“Why is it so expensive?”

“Maybe the angle makes it look bigger…”

“How many is too many to look at, at once?”

What am I contemplating? Going on a date or going to see an apartment?

The process of looking for a new place requires a fair amount of vetting, questions, and trusting your gut- so much like dating. The initial meeting- what is the location? Is it readily accessible to what I need in my life; dog park, work, grocery store, etc…? It’s gotta fit the criteria.

I feel in some ways I need to write the conclusion of this chapter of my life; living in my current apartment, I feel stuck in limbo. I work a 40 hour week and no longer am a student, but I live so close to campus. I walk past college students and could still be mistaken for one today. I’m not a college kid anymore. I work a full-time adult job and pay bills, I feel like I no longer belong in this college town.

I need to close this chapter and say goodbye to 18-23 year old me. So many memories live in these walls for me. So many moments flash by and I wouldn’t change a single moment. I just think it’s time to start a new chapter as a somewhat, self-sufficient, shakey adult.

But I digress…. the worst part about both dating and apartment hunting is that fact that you can think there’s potential only to be totally crushed. There is definitely something to be said about a spark- each apartment has its own personality and immediately there gotta be a spark to keep me coming back for more.

I found this beautiful studio, perfect location; immediately upon entering, I fell in love. A beautiful perfect next dwelling. The spark was there, undeniable and strong. To think – I could have it all. Ha! Wishful thinking, but that didn’t stop me from wanting to jump right in. But then rational thought came back into the picture. This was just a pipe dream.

Now the second place, well already my standards were high, but I figured I’d give it a shot. Right from the moment I walked in, I knew this was a no-go. It had the unappealing smell, one that I believe wouldn’t come out anytime soon. Plus it didn’t feel like I would be able to call it home.

 

So the hunt will continue, but thankfully I’m in no real rush to move and I don’t have to worry about a lease.

 

Leave a Reply

