Posted in Advice

Sisterhood

There’s something about being a part of a sorority that gives you a sense of belonging and a place in this crazy world. We aren’t just friends who meet each other by chance, but women who have taken a sacred vow and become bounded to each other for life. We’ve promised that we won’t walk out on each other or betray each other, but are here as support and balance. I’ve gotta say, I’m lucky, I joined a sorority with women who have had my back for a while now and I do trust them. They’ve supported me when I’ve cried, when I’ve laughed, when I’ve been scared and a little confused, when I’ve wanted to throw in the towel and quit, but most of all they’ve been here through it all.

Family isn’t just for those who are related by blood, but those who we let in because they’ve proved themselves and don’t run at the first sign of trouble.

We have faced trials and tribulation on our own and yet we’ve always managed to make sure that we support our sisters when we can. Sisterhood isn’t just about going to things that are mandatory, or doing the least one can do, or being there only when it’s fun; it’s about reaching out to each other when we’ve had a bad day (sending Facebook and Twitter love), it’s about taking the time to get to know each one of the unique women in our chapter, it’s about having the deep meaningful relationships that are going to last a lifetime. We all chose Sigma Sigma Sigma for a reason, what our motivations were it doesn’t matter because we’ve all chosen to love our founders and our sisters.

I wanted to write this post to thank each and every sister and friend who’s had my back and given me their support and love over the last few days. It hasn’t been easy and each one of you who has heard me go on and on about this, I truly do thank you. I want each and every one of you to know that no matter what, time of day, place on the earth, or anything, I’m here. I am beginning to really see just how lucky I am to be in such a beautiful place with amazing company. I don’t know what I where I would be if I didn’t have y’all and I wouldn’t have ever known what I was missing. There are always a million reasons to say it’s not worth it or to quit, but having 90+ sisters helping you to pull through makes a world of difference. We all carry our own burdens and luggage, but within this sisterhood, I’ve found that we carry it all together with no complaints. We’ll cry again together, we’ll be laughing together, we’ll be saying goodbye at different times, but we’ll never leave each other. This is what sisterhood means to me. It was never about just being part of ANY sorority, I joined because I met some strong, independent, brave, beautiful, smart, empowered, amazing women and wanted to be a part of this legacy.

So Sigma ladies, SLAM. 

   “Faithful Unto Death.”

h&k

N

Leave a Reply

