Posted in Advice

College Woman

So I’m in my third year of school (most students would be going onto their senior year, but thank God I have 2 years left) and what do I have to show so far?

I’m a Tri Sigma, a member of the Honor Council – where leadership is crucial, a member of the Drexel University Equestrian Team (DUET), a summer intern for research on Charles Dickens, and looking for my last full-time co-op.

I went out with two friends the other night and we got to talking about how we’ve changed or how we think we’ve changed. I said I’m still the same I was from freshman year of college and freshman year of high school and I meant it, the core of who I am is still the same. BUT I’ve grown up a lot, gotten more mature and sure of myself (in a non-cocky way), figured out a little bit of what interests me, what drives me, and what I don’t like. I’ve also learned to listen to my gut a little more and I’ve learned to be more of a team player. I’m definitely not the same girl who came here three years ago.

I also am looking a little more closely at the changes to come because two of my roommates are seniors so I’m beginning to see what adulthood entails and what responsibilities I’m going to have to look at. I’m beginning to see college as that final step to being a self-reliant adult. I’d like to think I am an independent woman but I know that I still fall to my parents to help bail me out at times and help me when I get stuck. I know that I’m still reliant on them even though I like to think I’m independent and sassy (I got the sass down though).

I’m realising that it’s not a game anymore, it’s time to really start thinking about my future and what I want to do, what makes me happy, what I need to do (because responsibilities contrary to what I like to think, carry a lot of weight), and if realistically having a partner (Ian) is realistic, if our goals, dreams, aspirations, priorities, and maturity are all in sync. I hate that I’ve already started thinking about a potential end. But it’s time to be realistic, I love to think about the fairytale love and the happily ever after but I know that adulthood calls and I have to think about the future and if we’d be truly happy together. (personal interjection, I think yes, I think we’d be a great couple, and we’d have a lot in common, but I’m not sure if his mind is even remotely close to where mine is).

Anyway that took a depressing twist at the end, so I’m gonna sign off.

h&k

N

2 thoughts on “College Woman

Leave a Reply

