Posted in Travel

Mexico – Part One

I’ve been to Mexico countless times, well actually about 6 times. I can’t really recall the first few times we went, but I do have a few memories that do come to mind, which trip I’m not sure, so bear with me!

The hurricane season of 1995 or 1996. We were in an outdoor restaurant and the tide all of a sudden came up to the restaurant and I must have been 4 or 5 at the time and knew I couldn’t get to my parents who were by the actual building in time, so I did the most logical thing for a kid to do- I climbed up a beam that held up the thatched roof. Naturally I scurried as fast as my little legs and arms could get me, but I was safe. Once the bigger of the waves had receded, one of the guys who worked in the restaurant, laughing of course, came down to get me, he picked up and took me back to my mom and dad.

The same flood season, we came out of a restaurant that was elevated, only to find that the water was taller than me and my brother, so my dad picked my brother up and my mom put me on her shoulders until the water levels were lower elsewhere.

We took lessons to learn how to speak Spanish, only my brother and I taught our teachers English. I remember watching water bugs at the fountain with another little girl.

That’s all I can think of from the first few trips, but you’ll get the stories of Cancun, Cozumel, Playa del Carmen, and more soon enough!

h&k

N

Leave a Reply

