Posted in Advice

A love of what I do

I’ve always loved to write, it’s been my thing. It’s the best kind of therapy there is, to get out your true feelings- even if you never share them, you get them out of your mind and release them to the universe (as Booth says to Brennan in Bones). Once it is written, it is no longer a burden to your beautiful self. It’s really easy for people to laugh at my dreams, the fact that people don’t regard the art of English to be a “real” career choice, but the problem them seem to forget is in order to do any other job, one must be able to communicate through words, thoughts, speech and have it all cohesive, which is what English and any other language is.

People have asked me so many times what I want to do with an English degree. I want to write, about the beauty that is all around us that people fail to notice. I want to have people feel the world I’m describing. I want people to feel a loss when a character dies. I want people to embrace what literature does to the soul. I want people to know that there is so much we miss and if we took a beat, we’d enjoy life as it was once enjoyed.

Sure there’s a lot of white noise out in the world, distractions with TV, films, electronics, but there is something about reading words, entering someone’s imagined world and getting to know their characters. Writing is as essential to me as breathing and eating.

Some people don’t know what they want to do; I do, it’s just a matter of time before it comes to dancing life for me.

h&k

N

Leave a Reply

